Sambalpur University Sambalpur University
Home Feedback Webmail Contacts Facebook YouTube
Latest News Kindly contact this help desk email id: and mobile 9078570345 for any query relating to online admission :: Academic Council Meeting will be held on 24.04.2018 at 9AM in Seminar Hall of PG Department :: The result of 1st Year Bachelor of Journalism and Mass Communication (BJMC) Examination, 2O17 published vide this office Notification No 970/EC-IV dt.24.O3.2018 has been kept at abeyance until further order. New :: Admission Announcement 2018-19 New ::

Special Package by Hon'ble Chief Minister for Sambalpur University

University Profile
The Sambalpur University Act was passed by the Odisha Legislature on 10th December, 1966 to fulfill long cherished dream of the people of Western Odisha for establishment of a University. The University started functioning from 1st January, 1967 with Prof.Parsuram Mishra as the first Vice-Chancellor. The University was inaugurated on 4th January, 1967 by Hon’ble Chancellor A.N.Khosla. The University started functioning in 1967 in a rented private building at Dhanupali, Sambalpur and in Government building at Ainthapali, Sambalpur from 1968 - 72. In the year 1973 the University was shifted to the present campus named Jyoti Vihar at Burla Read More...
  Prof. Deepak Kumar Behera, Vice Chancellor
Mission and Vision
Strive for academic excellence at par with national and international standards. Take up the social responsibility towards the educational uplift of the weaker sections of people as part of the institutional commitment. Make education and research socially more relevant by addressing some of the major regional issues. Provide effective leadership to improve the performance of various Read More...
  Vice Chancellor's Message
The long cherished dream of the people of Western Odisha came true, and the indefatigable efforts of the academicians, intellectuals and political leaders of the region bore fruit when Sambalpur University Act was passed on 10 December, 1966. Sambalpur University came into being and became functional from 1 January, 1967, with Dr Parsuram Mishra as the Vice Chancellor. Dr Zakir Hussain, the then President of India, laid the foundation stone of the present campus on 5 January, 1968,  at Jyoti Vihar, Burla, at a distance of 15 kms from Sambalpur city and 7 kms from the famous Hirakud Dam. Since 1973 the administrative, academic and residential buildings of the University have been located at the Jyoti Vihar campus sprawling over 630 acres of land amidst sylvan surroundings.   Read More...
Students Welfare Photo Gallery Alumni
Iqac Naac SRIC B.Ed & M.Ed 2017-18
Quick Links
Current Events
Copyrights © 2013 Sambalpur University. All Rights Reserved. Powered by- All India Online (p) Ltd.