• iconSkip to main content
  • iconSkip to navigation
  • iconScreen Reader Access
  • blue theme
  • pink theme
  • yellow theme
  • Text Resize
    • A-
    • A
    • A+

Academic Calender

Sambalpur University
Draft List of Holidays for P.G. Departments for the year 2020

Month Date Day Occasion No. of days
January 10.01.2020 Friday Pousa Purnima 01
15.01.2020 Wednesday Makar Sankranti 01
23.01.2020 Thursday Netaji Jayanti & Veer Surendra Sai Jayanti 01
30.01.2020 Thursday Basant Panchami 01
February 21.02.2020 Friday Maha Shivaratri 01
March 05.03.2020 Thursday Panchayati Raj Diwas 01
09.03.2020 Monday Dola Purnima 01
10.03.2020 Tuesday Holi 01
April 01.04.2020 Wednesday Utkal Diwas 01
02.04.2020 Thursday Shree Ramnavami 01
10.04.2020 Friday Good Friday 01
13.04.2020 Monday Mahabishubha Sankranti 01
14.04.2020 Tuesday B. R. Ambedkar Jayanti 01
May
&
June
13.05.2020
to
16.06.2020
Wednesday
to
Tuesday
Summer Vacation 30 (excluding sundays & including holidays)
23.06.2020 Tuesday Ratha Yatra 01
July 01.07.2020 Wednesday Bahuda Yatra 01
August 01.08.2020 Saturday Id-Ul-Juha 01
03.08.2020 Monday Meher Jayanti 01
11.08.2020 Tuesday Janmastami 01
15.08.2020 Saturday Independence Day 01
22.08.2020
to
24.08.2020
Saturday
to
Monday
Ganesh Puja & Nuakhai 02 (excluding Sunday)
September 17.09.2020 Thursday Mahalaya 01
October 02.10.2020 Wednesday Gandhi Jayanti 01
22.10.2020
to
29.10.2020
Thursday
to
Thursday
Dussehra 08
30.10.2020 Friday Birthday of Prophet Mohammad 01
31.10.2020 Saturday Kumar Purnima 01
November 14.11.2020 Saturday Deepawali 01
30.11.2020 Monday Rasa Purnima 01
December 08.12.2020 Tuesday Prathamastami 01
23.12.2020
to
26.12.2020
Wednesday
to
Saturday
Christmas & Winter Holidays 04
Total = 70 days

Note:-

  1. As Republic Day(26.01.2020), Nuakhai(23.08.2020) and Moharrum(30.08.2020) fall on sundays, those days have not been specially declared as holidays.
  2. Savitri Amavasya (22.05.2020) & Id-Ul-Fitre (25.05.2020) fall during summer vacation which has been included in the summer vacation.
  3. Convocation - 01 day. Day following Sheetal Shasthi - 01 day shall be declared as holidays later.
  4. In addition, the Vice-Chancellor has the discretion to grant 02 days as holidays for any special occasion during the year
  5. Dussehra holidays may be rescheduled in case the state Govt. declare to hold the Students' Union Election on a date which falls during the holidays as specified in the list of holidays.