• iconSkip to main content
  • iconSkip to navigation
  • iconScreen Reader Access
  • blue theme
  • pink theme
  • yellow theme
  • Text Resize
    • A-
    • A
    • A+

Departments → Environmental Science


  • Teacher
    Dr.Sanjaya Kumar Pattanayak
  • Designation
    Associate Professor
  • Qualification
    M.Sc., Ph.D.

The Department of Environmental Sciences in Sambalpur University was approved by the University Grants Commission during seventh plan period and was established in 1989 as the only Post Graduate Department of its kind in the state of Orissa and one of the few in the country. The Department started M.Phil. Programme from the academic session 1990-1991 and M.Sc. programme from the session 1994-95. At present the student intake is ten at M.Sc. level and six at M.Phil. level. In addition to this eight seats at M.Sc. and three seats at M.Phil. are filled up as self-financing seats. The Department is now highly acclaimed for a M.Tech. programme in Environmental Science and Engineering which runs on self-financing basis from the session 2007-08. Besides these, the Department is offering two P.G. Diploma courses of one year duration, namely, P.G. Diploma in Environmental Education and Management (PGDEEM) and P.G. Diploma in Industrial Safety and Health (PGDISH) through Distance Education mode. Based on its academic excellence, the Department is granted academic autonomy from the session 2006-2007.

Sl.No Facilities Major Equipments availablet
1 Building Well furnished
1 Teaching Laboratory Two well furnished Teaching laboratory
2 Research laboratory Three well equipped research Laboratory
3 Computer laboratory One well furnished Computer laboratory
4 Any Other Central Instrumentation room and well furnished seminar hall; One seminar library

Placement record of the students if any :

1. Dr. P.K. Behera, Mr. B.K.jena as scientist in CPCB, New Delhi. 2. Dr. S.S. Pati as scientist in SPCB, BBSR. 3. A.K.Dash as Scientist in NHPC, Dehradun 4. Dr (Mrs) R.Panda as regional director, IGNOU, Gangtok. 5. Dr. A. K. Dash & Dr (Mrs) A. Pradhan as Asst. Professor, ITER, BBSR. 1. Mr. Partha Sarathi Panda, Ms. Sangha Mitra Mishra, Ms. Sangita Chand, Ms. Manaswani Das and Mr. Sanjaya Burman joined Vedanta Aluminium Ltd. Jharsuguda 2. Mr. Khageswar Pradhan Joined as Environmental Engineer in NTPC, Kaniha 3. Ms. Chitra lekha Sen Gupta and Ms.S. Ekka Joined CPCB Kolkata as Environmental Officer. 4. Mr. Suraj Tondon and Mr. P.K. Behera joined Bhusan Sponge Iron Ltd. Jharsuguda as Environmental Officer. 5. Mr. Jitendra Prasad Sahu Joined as Environmental Officer in RAMKI, Hyderabad. 6. Mr. Asok Kumar Bhoi joined as Environmental Officer in Basundhara Coal Mines. 7. Mr. Nihar Ranjan Behera joined as RA in CPCB, Kolkota