• iconSkip to main content
  • iconSkip to navigation
  • iconScreen Reader Access
  • blue theme
  • pink theme
  • yellow theme
  • Text Resize
    • A-
    • A
    • A+

Departments → Electronics


  • Teacher
    Dr. Nalini Kanta Barpanda
  • Designation
    Reader and Head of the Dept.
  • Qualification
    BE, ME, Ph. D

Department of Electronics, Sambalpur University, started functioning in the regular mode from the session 2021-22 with an intake capacity of 20 (twenty) under the permission by the Department of Higher Education Govt. of Odisha vide letter No.27204/HE on 13.07.2021 and P.G. Council notification No.172/PGCO dated. 14.07.2021. The Department has had a long journey since 1996 when it was Approved by the UGC to run M.Sc. Electronics in the Department of Physics. Eminent Professors from Jadavpur University, REC, Rourkela (presently NIT), UCE, Burla (presently VSSUT)and faculty members of School of Physics were involved in the running of the programme. Later teaching of M.Sc. Electronics was transferred to Sambalpur University Institute of Information Technology in the year 2010 andContinued to function at SUIIT till academic session 2020-21. The vision of the Department of Electronics is to provide to the students an academic environment that will ensure the exchange of ideas and dissemination of knowledge in this discipline through effective teaching in a disciplined manner. It infuses the scientific temper in the students towards the research in Electronics by training almost 150 students in M.Sc., 10 in M.Phil. and 15 Doctoral students till today. The state-of-the-art Laboratory infrastructure helps the students to work on many research projects conducted every year for the need of the curriculum. For the benefit of the society the researchers are doing research in the area of Medical Therapeutic Use,Image Processing Applications in Agriculture and Communication Technology related studies for social applications.